English Spanish

On a Mission to Ignite Impact

Community Foundation Tampa Bay is a 501 (C)(3) public charity that connects people, ideas and resources to create meaningful, lasting impact. Across our region — Hillsborough, Pinellas, Pasco, Hernando and Citrus counties — we are philanthropic partners, connectors and advisors. We understand our area’s most critical needs and champion solutions. Let us show you how to bring your giving to life as we work together to build a vibrant, prosperous community for all.

Mission

Our mission is to build a vibrant, prosperous community through transformative vision, leadership, and philanthropy.

Vision

We envision a thriving Tampa Bay community where every person has equitable access to opportunity and prosperity.

Core Commitments to the Community

Stimulate Strategic Philanthropy

Build Community Connectedness and Trust

Ensure a Dynamic and Resilient Future for Tampa Bay

By the Numbers

Impact Report

View our Fiscal Year 2021 Community Impact Report and see the good we’re doing for great causes.

2021 Impact Report - Download PDF

Board Members

Our Board of Trustees members have deep roots here and a broad knowledge of our community’s needs. They are dedicated philanthropists who work hard to steward our investment in the region and inspire giving among others.

Meet the Team

Dedicated to meeting the needs of our donors, partners and communities.

Marlene Spalten

President & CEO
mspalten@cftampabay.org
(813) 609-4853

Kory Burkley

Vice President & CFO
kburkley@cftampabay.org
(813) 609-4854

Jesse Coraggio, Ph.D.

Senior Vice President, Community Impact

jcoraggio@cftampabay.org
(813) 609-4867

Sheila Kinman, CAP©

Senior Vice President, Philanthropy

kinman@cftampabay.org
(813) 609-4857

Wilma Norton

Vice President, Community Connections

wnorton@cftampabay.org
(813) 609-4858

Denyve Boyle, MBA, CFRE

Senior Director, Philanthropy

dboyle@cftampabay.org
(813) 609-4868

Laurie Dames

Specialist, Donor Support

ldames@cftampabay.org
(813) 609-4863

Grace Hengesbach

Nature Coast Community Consultant

ghengesbach@cftampabay.org
(813) 282-1975

Bilan Joseph, Ed.D.

Director, Thrive by Five

bjoseph@cftampabay.org
(727) 562-7137

Omeshia Joseph

Accountant

ojoseph@cftampabay.org
(813) 282-1975

Jay Josephs

Executive Assistant, Office Manager

jjosephs@cftampabay.org
(813) 609-4863

Henry Kurusz

Information Systems Manager

hkurusz@cftampabay.org
(813) 609-4861

Jennifer Malin

Senior Director, Strategic Communications

jmalin@cftampabay.org
(813) 497-2598

Jerrica Peets, Ph.D.

FAAME Project Manager

jpeets@cftampabay.org
(813) 560-8594

Alexis Rodriguez

Grants Accountant

arodriguez@cftampabay.org
(813) 609-4860

Jessica Scites

Director, Nonprofit Relations

jscites@cftampabay.org
(813) 609-4865

Katie Shultz, Ed.D.

Senior Director, Community Investments

kshultz@cftampabay.org
(813) 330-2746

Nicolette Rea, JD

Director, Donor Relations

nrea@cftampabay.org
(813) 609-4855

Matt Smith

Completion Coach, Complete Tampa Bay

msmith@cftampabay.org
(813) 330-2747

Berkely Spain

Controller

bspain@cftampabay.org
(813) 774-3972

Patti Strippoli

Donor Relations Coordinator

pstrippoli@cftampabay.org
(813) 609-4862

Lori Stubbs

Senior Accountant

lstubbs@cftampabay.org
(813) 609-4859

Chuck Tiernan

Senior Director, Community Impact & Director, LEAP Tampa Bay College Access Network

ctiernan@cftampabay.org
(813) 609-4856

Laurie Valentine, JD

Counsel, Philanthropic Giving

lvalentine@cftampabay.org
(813) 692-1880

Desiree Ward

Specialist, Community Impact

dward@cftampabay.org
(813) 280-0664

Investing for Maximum Success

Funds at Community Foundation Tampa Bay have the benefit of being part of a large institutional investment pool, which allows broad diversification and cost-effective management. 

Investment Performance Overview

Previous 12 months

-10.23%

Previous 3 years

+6.48%

Since founding in 1990

+7.20%

Investment Options

Long-Term Investment Strategy

A majority of our donors choose this option to capture the greatest potential for significant growth over time, even if there is short-term volatility or loss.

Intermediate-Term Investment Strategy

This strategy appeals to those who want to balance the potential for growth with lower risk for value-eroding loss or volatility.

Short-Term Investment Strategy

This strategy is usually chosen by those who want to preserve capital to meet more immediate philanthropic needs and who prefer minimal risk.

Passive Portfolio Option

The passive option is designed for those who prefer a passive management approach with lower investment fees. It is comprised of index funds invested in domestic and international equities, as well as fixed income.

Individually Managed Charitable Accounts

Donors may choose to have the wealth manager they work with regularly continue to manage the investment of their charitable donations.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

To make a real, lasting impact on our region we all need to be on the same page. Subscribe to our newsletter to keep up to date on all the important nonprofit news happening in our community.
Skip to content